TOWM

start line 35m

Mark, Cory and Kevin..waiting to get their 1 gear over the 35 miles!

"Chillin" on the start line

“Chillin” on the start line

Well, it sure has been awhile since I’ve updated this! I guess I just didn’t have anything to share that I thought you folks might find interesting. But, after 3 months off the race scene while building some base miles and goofing off with no particular purpose in mind; I made it to my first race of the season this past weekend at Epic Rides’ Tour of the White Mountains. With a brand new huge venue (super fun with an Amphitheatre and giant fire pit!) and mostly new course (some wicked fun trails!), I was ready to jump into the 50 miler once again, with working brakes (last year they were a fail!) and all new lines to hit! I arrived in town and got to catch up with some fellow racers and friends I hadn’t seen in quite some time, so the weekend was already starting out fantastic!

Going into the race, I didn’t have huge expectations, I wanted to ride hard, enjoy being up in the mountains and maybe get onto the podium as an added bonus! There was quite a chill in the air at the start (28 degrees!) and I am fully a desert rat now, so this is cold! I pulled on my bright green CEPs (for a little warmth and style! I think they might make me faster 🙂 ), two pair of gloves, some non-thermal black sun sleeves (what if I got hot out there??! Can’t have too much on!) and pedaled my bike right up to the front of the pack on the start line. It turned out to be a great day in the saddle for me! The trail had small steep and frequent climbs, some fast jeep roads mixed in with a ton of singletrack and lots and lots (and lots!) of rocks! I’m so happy I decided to ride my dual-suspension Epic for this! And after getting lost off course once and stopped one other time debating on where I was, conceding to having to use my bike as a pulley system to manage getting myself up the gigantic never-ending hike-a-bike hill and then eating dirt once on a loose sandy curve (what race would it be without a little dirt snack?!)…I managed to stay ahead and pull out a first place podium! I had such a blast at this event! I found myself smiling on every flowing section and even on some of the climbs. I came onto the start line without a single nerve. I enjoyed some tasty (FREE) New Belgium beer at the finish line. This is how I want every race to feel!

My bike started out the race super, sparkling clean thanks to my awesome husband and ProGold’s wash…I did return it with just a bit of mud on the wheels (and frame and bars and me!); but the chain still ran smoothly thanks to Xtreme! My nutrition was spot on, thanks to GU Energy, and I felt balanced the entire 4h37M (and what turned out to be 53.9 miles) I was out there!

Next up is DCB Adventures Dawn 2 Dusk endurance solo in December….but really, everything from here on out is training for the 24 Hours in the Old Pueblo….SOLO! Yep, you read that right. The crazy girl is doing a solo 🙂

50 Miler Women's podium. And there's Cassi standing in spot #5!

50 Mile Women’s podium. And there’s Cassi standing in spot #5!

Single Speed 35 Miler Podium. (Yep, that's my super husband up there!)

Single Speed 35 Mile Podium. (Yep, that’s my super husband up there!)

35 Mile Women's podium. Super mom, Katherina Beeler takes the top seat!

35 Mile Women’s podium. Super mom, Katherina Beeler takes the top seat!

Categories: Mountain bike racing | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

